Tuesday, May 17, 2022
Home India Jitin Prasada, 6 others inducted in Yogi cabinet ahead of UP polls...

Jitin Prasada, 6 others inducted in Yogi cabinet ahead of UP polls | India News – Times of India

NEW DELHI: Keeping caste equations and regional aspirations in mind, Uttar Pradesh chief minister Yogi Adityanath expanded his cabinet on Sunday ahead of assembly elections in the state.
As many as seven ministers took oath today at a ceremony held in Gandhi auditorium at the Raj Bhavan in Lucknow.
Prominent among the new ministers is Jitin Prasada, the former Congress leader who recently jumped ship to the BJP.
Prasada was inducted in the party amid its internal worries about the thin representation of the Brahmin community.
Besides Prasada, six other MLAs took oath as ministers of state. These include Sangeeta Balwant Bind, Palturam, Sanjeev Kumar Gaur, Dinesh Khatik, Chhatrapal Gangwar and Dharamveer Prajapati.
Bareilly MLA Gangwar, Agra MLC Prajapati and Ghazipur MLA Sangeeta Balwant Bind belong to the OBC communities.

Khatik and Palturam, MLAs from Hastinapur and Balrampur respectively, represent the SC community.
Sanjay Singh Gaur, an MLA from Obra seat of Sonbhadra, is an ST leader.
Meanwhile, Samjawadi Party chief and former UP CM Akhilesh Yadav took a dig at the cabinet expansion’s timing, calling the BJP’s move a “drama”.
“Today, a drama is being created to represent those who didn’t get their due for four and a half years. Till the time the color of the names of the new ministers dries up, the model code of conduct for the 2022 elections will be implemented,” he tweeted in Hindi.
The cabinet expansion was carried out along the lines of the Union Cabinet rejig, which also saw a major OBC push ahead of key assembly elections.
With the inclusion of these minister, the size of Yogi’s cabinet has now gone up to 60.
The maximum strength of the UP Cabinet can be 15 per cent of the total strength of its assembly. The Uttar Pradesh assembly has 403 seats.
In the 2017 UP assembly elections, the BJP had won 312 seats out of the 403 seats. Its ally Apna Dal (Sonelal) had won nine seats.
The Suheldev Bharatiya Samaj Party (SBSP) too had contested the 2017 assembly polls in alliance with the BJP and had won four seats but it had walked out of the alliance in 2019.
(With inputs from PTI)

Source link


Speeding two-wheelers beyond 40 kmph with kids below 4 yrs to attract fine & suspension of DL | India News – Times of India

NEW DELHI: Driving two-wheelers with children below four years as pillion at more than 40 kmph will be treated as traffic rule violation,...

Amarinder Singh shares Aroosa Alam’s pictures with politicians, celebrities to counter Congress

Chandigarh: Amid a row over his friendship with Pakistani journalist Aroosa Alam, former Punjab Chief Minister Amarinder Singh on Monday (October 25) released her...

PM Modi Congratulates Uzbek President On Election Win

<!-- -->PM Modi congratulated Uzbekistan's president Shavkat Mirziyoyev on his election win (File)New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Monday congratulated Uzbekistan's president...


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Rafael Nadal ready for Roland Garros despite injury issues

Nadal had said last week that daily training was a challenge and he would take a doctor with him to Paris after a...

Saha, Shami picked in Bengal Ranji squad for quarter-final

The Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) also named fast bowler Mohammed Shami in the squad. However, his participation will need a clearance from...

LSG skipper K L Rahul: Nothing comes easy, we had to learn that the hard way

Lucknow Super Giants needed a win against Rajasthan Royals to book its berth in the Indian Premier League playoffs. But a 24-run defeat...

This is as big as it gets in Indian sport: Pullela Gopichand

Pullela Gopichand delivered one of India’s great sporting moments as a player, winning the All England title in 2001. As chief national coach,...

Recent Comments